Discuss A Useful Guide For Replacing Plug Fuses in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

hi guys & gals,

thanks for continued feedback : certainly, as @Lucien Nunes suggests, appliance could still have internal faults - even with a "compliant fuse" fitted. without getting too "supergeeky", plug, fuse and wiring form part of the circuit, so that's where I focused my repair efforts. (in original forum post, OP mentioned changing entire plug too).

from observations, I've noted brass pins can be dull (on older plugs) and of course, it's a good idea to check all terminal connections are clean and tight inside plug casing.

Generally, I attempt to fault trace what I can, rather than disassembling appliances. (I'm not a pro-trained electrician, so keep away from capacitors and "live working"). ? Ironically, I've just been involved in disassembling a an old Zanussi FL 1032 washing machine... but I'll spare you all the grizzly details ? (couldnt see any capacitors inside the unit).

Since a few members mentioned Maplins (being overpriced) I wondered what the word was "on the wire" about their demise. Generally, it seems company couldnt "compete with online retailers" like Amazon. (I must be old skool, I still like to look someone in the eye when I buy anything, especially something like electronic components).

Anyway, as per @Darkwood original observation, I managed to hunt down a website that lists better manufacturers of fuses. [pic attached] the general thrust of my guide is to assist you guys in the field, as i know what it feels like to be charged with fixing something that refuses to work. (knowledge is power).

RS Components:

"Fuses should have a current rating that is slightly higher than the standard operating current of the device. This means that the fuse will not blow and trip the circuit in the event of a low, harmless surge."