Discuss Anyone got any drawings they’ve made for finding downlights in a new ceiling? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
So I’m an apprentice and only get to do downlighter jobs as foreigners at the weekend, but they’re typically added when the customer no longer wants a pendant so the ceiling is already finished and I’ve never seen downlights being wired while the ceiling is exposed and then finding them after.

Was just wondering if people had any drawings spare to share which shows what they include and where they measure off to find the downlights? Wouldn’t want to be in a scenario where I’ve wired them, ceiling goes up and then I do the measurements all wrong and can’t find them or are unevenly spaced.

Thanks in advance!

The distances are completely down to the size of room, and what the room is/ how it’s designed.
Kitchens, bathrooms, and maybe long hallways. Not in bedrooms…. Unless it’s a development show home.

The one on our street when new had about 80 downlights… all halogen, all on 24/7. The ceilings were so dry and brittle, they started falling in.

On a finished ceiling, you would be very lucky not to hit a joist first time through measure alone.
Sometimes you can pick out the screws with a magnet or where the plaster is chipping off and work from there.

In a kitchen, I start off 700mm from the wall, so any worktop is illuminated and wall units don’t cast shadows… and anything from 800-1100 between fittings. However it looks best.

watch out for tall larder cupboards, where there are no wall units.

Scale drawings are good to work off. Draw in where the joists are, and distances between centres.

I always measure all downlights from whichever wall I feel is going to change the least after the builders have finished.
I.e. if they are battening out one of the walls and the other wall is just being skimmed, then I will take the measurements from the wall being skimmed.