Discuss Ceiling design for 600x600mm LED drop-in panels please. in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Mark42

-
Esteemed
Patron
Reaction score
Good morning and a very happy lockdown to all :)

I'm using this tedious 'holiday' to fit a new suspended grid ceiling in my large open workshop.

Here's the provisional lighting plan, using drop-in 600 square LED panels from TLC. I have three existing circuits available (currently feeding 5 x 400W metal halides, which will be disconnected.)

Depending on the work in progress, I'd like a selection of lux levels, without the trouble and expense of using dimmable panels. So I'm fitting three separate circuits. Sketch and specs below.

Have I missed anything please? Has anyone done it like this before? (I'm new to LED panels).

Any comments/ideas before I build the thing?

Cheers, Mark

ps. (Of course the psychedelic colours are only to make the individual circuits easy to visualise. All panels are 5000K :cool: )

Ceiling lighting plan Ver 1.JPG

TL;DR
Best layout for multiple LED ceiling panel lighting circuits
Last edited:
In principle it looks and sounds fine. Depending on what work is being done in there. For instance if colour is important you might want to consider higher CRI factor. It sounds like you will be doing officey things in there? If so you need to get lights which have a UGR of 19. You need to know in advance the lumens deliver to desks, assuming there will be desks from your descriptions. The one big factor you need to work out is what is the inrush current. That amount of lights will struggle not to blow the MCB due to inrush. You might need to split them up circuit wise. You do not seem to mention emergency lighting or anti panic (required in a room that size. Just a few thought for starters. By the way I do a lot of commercial LED retro fit and upgrades. Oh and I don't personally like the asymetric nature of the layout.

my thoughts are that that is a bit of overkill.