Discuss conecting panels series parallel in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

robroofer

shello everyone,

im starting a pv course tuesday and was wondering about a few things.

the mounting of panels isnt much concern as im a roofer by trade the boss wants me on the course , there will be a electrician with us during the installs but i wanted to go on the course aswell as my boss.

this forum is great and I've learnt so much.

one thing is connecting the panels together, ive been reading up on series and parallel connections but a bit clueless on it all.

if you have say 3 panels or 15 panels does it make a difference connecting them up or do you put them all in series?. do they go through this at the course as i assume just sparky's go on this course and know already.

regards
Rob

Basically if you connect the panels in series, the voltages are added together and the current stays the same. If you connect them in parallel the voltage stays the same and the currents are added together. because of the problems of voltage drop it is usually to connect in series to gain a high voltage so the effect of voltage drop becomes less significant. on larger arrays though this may produce more volts than is desirable (beyond the range of the inverter for example) so on a 16 panel instal for example you might connect 2 strings of 8. the voltage of 8 panels is added together whilst the current of the 2 strings is added together, this would give the same watts as if you just connected 16 panels in series.

also current is more susceptable to shading. on panels connected in series if one panel is shaded it will drop the current, and therefore the power, of the whole string (bypass diodes etc excepted) so if you had a 16 panel array where half the panels were susceptable to shade for part of the day if you connect those as a string in parallel with the unshaded ones you will reduce the effect of the shade on the whole array.

hope that helps