Discuss Joining cables. in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello everyone I am new to this site and always a bit worried about coming on forums for advice because I've heard people say about people being sarcastic, nasty or putting you down because you have asked a silly question, I'm an audio visual engineer of a small company and they put me on one of those month long courses a few years ago and past all the exams but I never class myself as an electrician but also I have never had anyone to turn to for advice or help so I just refer to the internet and wiring regs for help but this time I have bit the bullet and joined this site. Here is my question I did some work in a school last year and I joined a number of cables together the old black and red and extended them with brown and blue, I crimped all my joins and tidyly put them back in to the metal conduit, the conduit is earthed. My boss just spoke to me and said they had the system inspected and it was said that the inspector was surprised that the joints were in metal conduit and not pulled out and joined in a plastic box but upon looking at the regs it states that "where a connection is made in an enclosure the enclosure shall provide adequate mechanical protection and protection against relevant external influences". That's on page 107 ref 526.7 I may be reading this wrong and misunderstood it can anyone clarify this is it wrong to do joins in metal conduit that is earthed or should I have done all the joins in a plastic box.
thanks for listening.
Mel

Mel welcome to the forum and despite what you've heard we don't bite.
The only thing we ask of new members is that they are as transparent and clear as possible and provide all relevant info so the members can assist you correctly.