Discuss keep getting shocked at my house in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

johnkarp

DIY
Reaction score
sometimes when I touch metal objects for example the washing machine, toaster etc I get a nasty shock. almost always the breakers trip, what can it be? Also I am not an electrician I am just curious as to what is the problem. The problem is not happening all the time. sometimes nothing happens and after a month the problem may randomly reapear. Once I touched a fork (thats right a fork) and the breaker tripped.)so its very weird.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well that is dangerous and you should get someone in to check and fix is as soon as practical.

It sounds like you have two faults, one is an open/missing earth connection to one or more of the electrical appliances, and the other is a fault causing power to leak to the metalwork.

The breaker tripping when you get a shock is detecting the power going astray though your body, but the metalwork should already by earthed (grounded) so it would go to earth directly and so trip before you get a shock!

Is this a house you own or a rented house?
Has any work been done in the house around the time the issue started, new meter, work on anything electrical or plumbing or heating or building work etc?

what he said. ^^^^^. had similar last year. no earth connection to the installlation and customer getting shocks off all (metal) kitchen sockets and appliances. get yourself an electrician in urgently.

spotted that. that's why i didn't offer.could do with the cultural holiday though.

what puts me off Greece is the donkey pi$$ they drink. ouzo FFS and retsina.

Reply to keep getting shocked at my house in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi, I moved home a few months ago and the electrics RCD keep tripping. Sometimes it will happen every few days and sometimes will be fine for a...
Replies
Views