Discuss Shameless help required with RCD trips. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

BristolMartin

Hi. I am a total novice with no electrical qualifications, but a quick learner and good with DIY and IT. I own a few old arcade machines at home and am having problems with my RCD tripping.

How should I test and what am I looking for?

I have had an electrician in to put a new RCD in to Isolate the building supply where the machines are, it is a RCCB 100A 100MA.

I am quite sure its one of a few games doing it and I have just purchased this: Kewtech KEW 2434 Earth Leakage Clamp Meter

Is it just a case of measuring the Mains plug earth from each Machine? Then in turn each component from within the machine? I am assuming I work backwards from the Building mains and turn on one machine etc and measure. What measurements should I be looking for.

Thanks

Martin

if you clamp the incoming tails, together, the leakage meter will show the difference between L and N. that is your leakage. the plug in each machine in turn and see when and if the reading increases. it could be a result of each machine haVING A CERTAIN LEAKAGE , AND ADDED TOGETHER, THEY ARE SUFFICIENT TO TRIP THE rcd.

There is no shame in asking for help with something you are not sure of.
The shame comes in when you are a poster who takes money from people for doing electrical work after something like a 5 week course and undercuts proper sparks but dont know jack ----.

Boydy

Hi. I am a total novice with no electrical qualifications, but a quick learner and good with DIY and IT. I own a few old arcade machines at home and am having problems with my RCD tripping.

How should I test and what am I looking for?

I have had an electrician in to put a new RCD in to Isolate the building supply where the machines are, it is a RCCB 100A 100MA.

I am quite sure its one of a few games doing it and I have just purchased this: Kewtech KEW 2434 Earth Leakage Clamp Meter