Discuss Should I earth bond test Class I appliances? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

HandsOffEngineer

-
Trainee
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a Trainee here on the Forum. I am seeking some further advice/input on a specific technical matter of importance to me.

Briefly, I have completed C&G level 1 in electrical installation (distinction) and I am currently on the level 2 course, and things are going well on that score.

However, I am having problems securing unpaid work experience or employment, so I have decided to start my own business making handcrafted luminaires that I will sell to the public. Initially these will be mostly of a steel industrial aesthetic design. I understand the business/legal side of this quite well and don't need advice on that. I also know how to make the lamps and how they function electrically. That's not a problem.

But I decided that I would also need to test the lamps before sale. This is chiefly out of a genuine concern for safety but also partly for marketing reasons. I know it's not mandatory, but I still think it's a good idea. To this end, I enrolled on the C&G 2377-22 course (in-service inspection & testing - i.e. "PAT testing"), and I've now completed this.

I did score 94% in the online theory assessment and I sailed through the practical - I mention this to show you that I am serious - however I am NOT yet qualified or competent. I realise that I still have further reading/experience and training to undertake before I actually attempt to undertake any in-service inspection/testing, whether professionally as an appliance inspector or as part of making luminaires for others.