Discuss This doesn't seem up to code / safe (small gauge wire to 100 amp breaker in an outbuilding) in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Last year we purchased a home that was built in the late 1990s It has one outbuilding, sort of a barn/shed about 160 feet from the house (and probably closer to 280' from the utility connection on the far side of the home), which has a breaker box in it supplying three 20A circuits (lights on one, and two sets of GFCI protected outlets).

I added some storage units on the far side of the barn. There are no outlets there, so I ran some 12-2 Romex to the area and fed it through the existing conduit into the breaker box. And there's where I noticed something that seemed off to me.

I am not an electrician but feel I'm a reasonably competent DIY'er for basic things like adding circuits for outlets, lights.

The main breaker says 100 A but the wires supplying the breaker box seem awfully small. They look like they're about 10 g to me, though I didn't put calipers on them. Looks like a direct burial line with two hot, a neutral, and a ground.

There's a photo below of the breaker box. The new Romex not connected to anything is the line I just ran.

Can someone explain to me how this might be OK, or if it's definitely wrong? I don't see how it's possible those wires could supply several 20A loads at the same time. Especially considering the distance that underground line has to go. It doesn't seem to originate from the home's breaker boxes (at least, I don't see anything with a label there). I'm not sure where it connects to utility power.