Discuss 12v DC power from lighting circuit in loft space in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi,

I've very little experience with wiring (other than a 18 yr old physics A-level), so was looking for a few pointers.

I have a 4G LTE router I'd like to run in our loft, as it has far better reception up there - but alas, there are no plug sockets.

The lighting circuit is accessible - but from what I understand, any general socket fitted needs to be backed by an RCD, so this would also need to be fitted. I also understand that lighting circuits aren't supposed to go above 6A, so a 13A socket would be frowned upon. (I've read it's permitted, but must be clearly labelled - in any case, it seems sketchy and likely to be misused at some point).

The router itself runs on 12V DC, from a 2A transformer. Would an LED driver (or similar), wired into a switch off the lighting circuit be something that could be certified (and not burn my house down) to run this? Has anyone done anything similar - or is this idea just silliness?

Cheers

Welcome to the forum mate.
Is the transformer part of the plug?
If you have 'very little experience with wiring' do you think you would be safe hacking into the light circuit?

The transformer the router came with was one of those wall wart efforts - so whilst it would be fine in a socket, I wasn't proposing to use it in the loft.

I'm mainly looking to do the minimal changes to get this running, and since 12V DC LED drivers are definitely designed for lighting circuits - I was hoping to hear if anyone had any experience of using them to run alternative electronics.