Discuss 16 x Sanyo 250w panels - Choice of SMA3300 or Diehl 3801TL inverter? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

F

Fran1

Hi there - I'm a complete novice and hope very much that you might be able to help me? After an intense search, I have found 16x 250w HIT Sanyo panels due to be installed at the end of November to meet the FIT deadline. I have been offered a choice of 2 inverters: SMA 3300 or a 3801TL Diehl AKO...

I am concerned that both of these are underpowered for a 4kw Sanyo System? I know that inverters are in short supply so probably have no choice but would I be better reducing my array to 14 panels (3.5kw) if I'm stuck with one of these inverters? This would presumably save some money on panels/ installation.....

Grateful for any advice - I have read the technical brochures for both inverters but am struggling to make sense of them! Also, I think that the SMA 3300 has a transformer but the diehl does not - any views on which one of these to go for?

many thanks in advance

Fran

I'd go for the Diehl. I'm not sure what the AC output power is on these inverters though. If it is above 3680 watts then you may have a problem - applications for >16A connections to the DNO are utterly pointless at the moment.

Thank you so much for your reply. The AC output on the Diehl is 3330 watts so that is ok but what do you think about the size of the inverter for a 4kw installation - its max. DC input is 3480 watts... I'm just wondering whether putting it on a 16 x 250w Sanyo panel installation is the right thing? Would welcome any advice?

I would go for the sunnyboy 3300, its ac output is 3600- it matches up perfectly well to this size system and we've fitted many 16 panel sanyo hit 250's. It gives fractionally different performance to a 4000tl through sunny design, it costs over £200 less and doesnt require a pre application.