Discuss 2/3 of my sockets have stopped working in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

littlewigin

Hi guys

A few hours ago, 2/3 of the downstairs sockets in my house stopped working. I've taken a voltmeter to them (from my car mechanics box) but I'm no electrician (I've put in a spur and an RCD to an electric underfloor heater but that's my limit). The meter from L to N reads 230-235v on the working ones and 70 on the ones that arn't working. The only other weird/scary thing is the live to earth reading is 230-235 on the ones that arn't working.

As it's an old stone house with solid floors, I've got an idea about which socket links to which however after pulling a few skirting boards off to try to trace them, it's a bit hit and miss to work out which could link to which. There's also some signs of junction boxes but they havn't been opened/unearthed since we bought the house 14 years ago. Loads of the wiring is plastered in.

When they went, we seemed to be powering the QE2. The tumble dryer, washing machine (both WM and dryer are on a spur), fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave and tv/stereo etc were on (but I'm fairly certain that we've had that many things running at the same time before). The only other change is that 4 days ago, I've switched the RCD/underfloor heater back on (it's on a timer) and so I was afraid that this might have been the cause. I've uncscrewed this spur to try to discount it but the rest of the sockets still read the same voltage 70v.

There's an RCD in the consumer unit and that didn't trip. There's a similar post from a few years ago but with a new house and I *think* I've now followed that by checking each of the sockets that arn't working in turn to see if there's an obvious loose neutral. I just can't get my head around where to try to find the problem.