Discuss After 3phase board, ideally some board wiring/testing too - LONDON/SE in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm a mechanical manager with some electrical background (2330 L2 from college, 18th ed, 2392).

About to be an M+E manager so need to brush up on areas I'm unfamiliar with - 3 phase wiring and testing is the big one.

Is there anyone in London area with access to a (used) 3phase board who can guide me through install and testing for a day or two? Happy to renumerate. I have an MFT.

Failing that if anyone has a (preferably at least populated) 3phase board for sale, do get in touch.

Many thanks

Do you have a copy of GN3? That explains 3 phase testing in detail and is an essential purchase if not.

3 phase testing has exactly the same principles as single phase testing, just with more permutations. Most tests are do it three times and record the biggest number. The main quirk is that as many MFT's can't measure Zs between phases we do a mathematical hack, see below.

Safe Isolation = 10 tests: each phase to earth, each phase to N, each phase to each other phase , and finally N to E.

Get used to writing out a 3 by 3 grid of 3 Ze's, 3 PEFC's and 3 PSCC's as follows:
Ze = Each phase to supply earth, exactly as single phase with main earth disconnected, highest number is final answer.
Record the three associated PEFC's at the same time on 2nd row.

For PSCC record each measurement from each phase to N. To allow for a dead short between phases double the largest reading. (Mathematically should be times root 3, the relationship between 230v and 400v, but GN3 says double it. )

As single phase, the PFC is the highest reading from the 2nd and 3rd rows, remembering each PSCC is doubled first, so invariably it will be one of the PSCC readings.

Using the arrows on a mid-range 2 pole tester, check phase rotation is consistent for the whole installation.