Discuss Can someone explain how these storage heaters were wired via the contactor? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Been round to a house to quote to replace some storage heaters for new panel heaters and came across a strange (to me at least) way of wiring the old storage heaters via a contactor in the board, as usually I see their own off peak consumer unit which powers up at night via economy 7.

From the pictures it seems the busbar for each row ends at the last breaker and there is no space to move any of the circuits away from the contactor to the main switch side and it MAY need a board change as a result. I have admitted to him as I’m an apprentice with limited experience of this type of wiring arrangement I would be out of my depth to consider doing such work.

I thought originally the three breakers next to the contractor fed the FCU’s for the storage heaters but when looking at the circuit ref’s they are on the middle shelf and there is also 4 heaters (so what do the breakers next to the contactor do and where do the supply and load for these come and go)?

I was pretty hesitant to leave the job after seeing inside the board so I didn’t stay long but I would like to understand what’s actually going on so that once I’m qualified I could actually feel confident going into a job like this.

One thing to note for any help is I tested to see if any of the FCU’s were live. (The three storage heaters were dead) but circuit 5 listed as “bedroom right” was actually a panel heater- this was live at 230v until the breaker was switched off so this surely must have not been running through the contactor.

Cheers in advance for any help!

Attachments

• 539998AC-6307-4907-80BA-5713A7ADF067.jpeg
    64.2 KB · Views: 56
  • 03C7B0CB-EEB5-452B-806F-6C676FB942DF.jpeg
    104.7 KB · Views: 57
  • 3AEF5C9F-3121-4F66-9313-7F1C23AB5025.jpeg
    114 KB · Views: 56