Discuss DC activated AC relay in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello right off the bat I'm a novice with a little better understanding than most(father was a electrician) but I am not an electrician.
I'm converting a metal bandsaw from 3 phase to single phase, replacing the motor(which is dead) and wiring.
I am looking to use a DC signal to the safety and manual run trigger on the handle for obvious safety reasons.
I'll be using a transformer to convert AC to DC in this circuit.
What I need to find is a relay that is DC activated that runs AC supply and don't know how to phrase my search to find one can anyone help please
Cheers Dave

Hello right off the bat I'm a novice with a little better understanding than most(father was a electrician) but I am not an electrician.
I'm converting a metal bandsaw from 3 phase to single phase, replacing the motor(which is dead) and wiring.
I am looking to use a DC signal to the safety and manual run trigger on the handle for obvious safety reasons.
I'll be using a transformer to convert AC to DC in this circuit.
What I need to find is a relay that is DC activated that runs AC supply and don't know how to phrase my search to find one can anyone help please
Cheers Dave

A transformer alone won't give DC.

You need to know the dc voltage and also the ac current that's going to be switched.

Once again your right I'm not an electrician(wrong word)
Hear is an example of what I may use, and to what voltage current will depend on the relay.
I will buy the power supply to suit the relay I can get, I'm looking at 12/24v DC any amo will depend on what relay I can get the AC side will have to be 20amp minimum would prefer about 25amp.
The motor is 1.5kw with 18amp peek draw,
Cheers Dave

There are relays with DC coils that are rated for AC switching. The keys are the load voltage and current (240VAC at 15A or something like that). Then you specify one with the right coil voltage.