Discuss Direct Buried Cables 3 Phase in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a mechanical engineer tasked with some electrical engineering scope of work and not sure where to look for information on the following...

I have 12 x Off 95mm2 SWA 3 Phase cables coming from Solar inverters into an energy building panel. Each cable is carrying a maximum of 160Amps and will be wired directly into suitably rated MCCB's. In an effort to minimise construction costs, i have been asked if we can bury these 12 cables directly in the ground in a trench with backfill and i am struggling to find the relevant information on it within BS7671. Can anyone help with :-

• Is there another industrial standard that relates to this type of work?
  • Is it allowed to be done without concrete ducting/casing?
  • Is it possible to lay all 12 together or must they be separated by soil/sand etc
  • Is it possible to bury in say 4 x rows of 3 cables or 3 x rows of 4 cables?
  • is there a specified amount of spacing distance with regards burying cables like this?
  • Am i correct in thinking the top layer of cables needs to be a minimum of 700mm from the surface to allow protection of the cables?

I apologise if these are simple questions with simple answers, but i have no experience in the industry and just need some guidance.

All help will be deeply appreciated.

Regards & Thanks,
Kieran

You can bury SWA cables directly in the ground but often it is better to use twinwall duct or similar so it is possible (with a lot of effort) to replace one later. If you do bury directly, and to some extent with duct, you do need to ensure the surrounding material is free of large/sharp stones. For small/medium jobs then that typically means spending a lot on sand/small gravel, but if a big job you might look at hiring a soil separator to take any big stones out and then use the finer stuff to back-fill.