Discuss Fuses burning out! in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

SOC

Hi there, I work as an Oven cleaner and I have a heated tank (which heats up to 80 degrees F) installed in my van. I'm having problems with the fuses for the tank burning out after 2-3 weeks.

To heat the tank I plug a 13amp extension lead (unravelled) into the mains. Then an RCD socket is plugged into the extension socket, and finally the tank is plugged into the RCD. Unless the 13amp fuses on the extension lead, RCD plug and tank plug are changed every 2 weeks then they burn out and I have to rewire the plugs!

When the tank is switched on I normally leave it on for 1-2 hours to heat the tank sufficiently.

What can I do to prevent these fuses from burning out? Use a transformer?

Your help is MUCH appreciated

Thanks, Jack-SOC

What is the wattage of the heating element in the unit?

Hi there, I work as an Oven cleaner and I have a heated tank (which heats up to 80 degrees F) installed in my van. I'm having problems with the fuses for the tank burning out after 2-3 weeks.

To heat the tank I plug a 13amp extension lead (unravelled) into the mains. Then an RCD socket is plugged into the extension socket, and finally the tank is plugged into the RCD. Unless the 13amp fuses on the extension lead, RCD plug and tank plug are changed every 2 weeks then they burn out and I have to rewire the plugs!

When the tank is switched on I normally leave it on for 1-2 hours to heat the tank sufficiently.

What can I do to prevent these fuses from burning out? Use a transformer?

Your help is MUCH appreciated

Thanks, Jack-SOC

Think we all might need a little more to go on. It sounds like too much load for the fuses, RCD etc

Hi guys, here's the description on the heating element.

11" Titanium Immersion Heater
Combined Thermostat & Safety cut-out fitted
2.8kw @230v - 3kw @240v