Discuss Looking for advice on the best brands of Domestic CU available in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi. Can any electricians who carry out domestic installations recommend the best brands of CU currently available. I am a recently retired electrician (over 50 yrs in the trade) but worked mainly in industrial/commercial installations and maintenance. Working now for family, friends and neighbour's for mates rates of course. I prefer good quality gear and I don't mind paying for it.I am familiar with the likes ok MK , Crabtree, Merlin Gerin and Square D etc but I can see a lot of new names out there now such as BG ,MCG, M2, Proteus, and Contactum etc. I will be grateful for any advice/recommendations that electrician's have to offer. Thank you.

Fusebox CUs seem to be very popular with a lot of members. BG are good value for the price. I've used several BG without any problems. . Proteus are own brand by CEF and are pants.

Hi. Can any electricians who carry out domestic installations recommend the best brands of CU currently available. I am a recently retired electrician (over 50 yrs in the trade) but worked mainly in industrial/commercial installations and maintenance. Working now for family, friends and neighbour's for mates rates of course. I prefer good quality gear and I don't mind paying for it.I am familiar with the likes ok MK , Crabtree, Merlin Gerin and Square D etc but I can see a lot of new names out there now such as BG ,MCG, M2, Proteus, and Contactum etc. I will be grateful for any advice/recommendations that electrician's have to offer. Thank you.
Not Proteus though, had some awful catastrophes with Proteus

generally domestic sparks will tend to install what ever is cheapest or on special at their local suppliers.
that said I don’t do math board swaps these days and will only use rcbo boards...