Discuss Solar system tripping out mains. in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

lennyg

I have come to this forum because what I have been told my the company that fitted my system does not tally with how I understand PV solar works. I received an informative response to my previous post so I defer to you again.

I have a 4kw system with a Mastervolt 5500 inverter. Since the system was installed in November, I have had the mains trip out at least a dozen times. In the 5 years prior since building our house the mains tripped out twice due to a dodgy iron. I asked the installation company to investigate, and 4 months down the line they came to have a look.

The symptoms were quite random. The RCD on the board (80A 30mA) would trip and if I tried to reset it it would not let me, unless I reset the PV fuse. I have an audio amp that I originally thought was the cause but the electricity kept tripping. The one thing that caused me to rule out the PV originally was that it did trip a couple of times at 4 o'clock in the morning, however the same reset on the PV fuse rectified the problem in the middle of the night

The solar electrician came out this week and did a test by plugging a monitor into a 13A socket and quickly determined it was a faulty RCD. I purchased a relatively expensive new RCD and fitted it yesterday. This morning the mains tripped again. I tried to reset the RCD but it was having none of it. I turned off the isolation switch to the board from the PV and the RCD reset. I turned the isolation back on and the RCD tripped so in my mind it seems there is some issue with the incoming solar feed. At the same time this happened, I had the kettle on which may be a factor somewhere in the mix.

Any guidance/advice greatly appreciated.

It sounds like your system is wired wrong.
A PV system should not be on a shared RCD, so if your PV system is tripping the main RCD it must be wired in the wrong side of it.