Discuss ZS in a PME earthed household in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Darkone

Please be gentle with me it's been a long day.

In my previous life I was an electrician, suppose I still am but not practicing installation work.
So I am trying to get up to speed with some modern practices, mainly Earth Loop Impedence.

In my daily work I constantly use a megger for safety testing but also have an Earth loop tester, which i thought I was quite converse with its use, but a situation today made me want to clarify my readings.

So the situation is that on testing a 13a socket outlet on a ring main in a utility room I got a reading of 1.57ohms, the next socket approx 2 metres away was 0.47.
I checked other sockets in the kitchen area and got readings from 1.48 to .53ohms

I suggested to the house owner that these readings have, 1, too high a reading and 2 should not have such a varience on the same rings.
The householder found the wiring certs isued by the contracting electrician so I checked these.

These are some of the details recorded:
PME earth as source (ZE = 0.32ohms)
Max allowed ZS for kitchen ring 2.6ohms? .... measured 1.48
Kitchen ring on 32a 60898 mcb, not sure of type(BCor d)

Now I always believed that Bs En6098 and Bs 3871 MCB should have a max ELI readings in a PME installation of less than these readings ie type 1=1.44ohms 2=.82ohms B=1.15ohms C=.57ohms etc

So am I loosing the plot or has the contracting electrician made errors both in the installation and certificating, and a Niceic sparky at that

Firstly, did you measure Zs at the terminals behind the socket or through the pins with an adaptor?

Maximum, uncorrected figures:

B32 - (230/(5*32) = 1.43ohms
C32 - (230/(10*32) = 0.71ohms
D32 - (230/(20*32) = 0.35ohms