Discuss 230v breaker ratings in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
**DIY'ing a campervan, trying to plan the electrics myself before getting help to install so I understand what is going on under the hood. (Engineer by trade, can't help myself)

Questioning my basic understanding of circuit breakers and plug sockets: If a standard plug is rated to 13A, do you just multiply the number of sockets on a circuit to reach your breaker size? If so a 16A breaker would only accomodate 1 socket?

In a campervan situation whereby you're less likely to be doing multiple things at once, if you lower the breaker rating is the worst that happens the breaker trips and you tell your girlfriend to stop streaming football while you blow dry your hair?

cheers
(1st of many posts I expect)

It doesn’t work like that.

You can have as many sockets on the circuit as you wish… the TOTAL load is what gets plugged in. It’s just each plug can be up to 13A…. Very few loads are.
Even a kettle at 2.5kW is about 11A

A camper van hook up is generally only 16A anyway…. For the whole van.

My advise is to consult a dedicated van conversion engineer. There will be standards for the wiring which will be different to BS7671 that we in general work to.

In my experience, with a touring caravan… the 230v mains powers the general sockets, for plugging things in…. And a battery charger for the 12v leisure battery.
The 12v leisure battery runs all the lights.

It's worth noting Section 721 of BS7671 covers electrical installations within caravans and so you may wish to consult that, in addition to any other knowledge you garner.

Yes i should have said motorhomes may have standards in addition to BS7671.

There's also the gas and water sides of it to look into as well.

So in a house, how would you estimate a likely load?

In a practical sense it's relatively straightforward in a van, don't use 2 hair dryers at once.... but I'm interested in the principles.