Test Meter - Forum Sponsors since 2007!
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members
Advertisement - Content continues below

Discuss confused about cable requirements in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

tawraste

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

hi all,
can anyone help me out please? i am studying for a BTEC in electrical installations and i have run up against a very basic problem. i'd be very grateful if anyone can explain...
basically, i'm trying to assess the cable rating for a socket ring main. i am confused because i thought cables had to be rated higher than the protective device, but everywhere i look i see 2.5mm t&e being recommended with a 32A protective device.
when i look at the tables in the electrician's guide, 2.5mm t&e appears to be rated at 21A when sunk directly into a wall.
surely the cable will get damaged before the circuit gets shut off?
i'm obviously missing something here,but i cannot see the wood for the trees.
for reference, i'm calculating the figures for 8 13A sockets on 24metres of cable. no grouping or ambient temperature correction, but the cable will go straight through a 100mm insulated wall in two places. system is TNS, voltage 230v.
thanks in advance,
tawraste:)

A

acat

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Hi

Hope this helps with what you are saying 2.5mm is rated at 20A for a radial circuit if its a ring main the cable rating is 40A. The radial should be protected by a 16A fuse and the ring with a 32A fuse

Good luck

Chris

T

tawraste

hi, thanks for your reply.
that does help a lot - i'm assuming the reason is that there are 2 paths to and from the consumer unit?
:)

A

acat

Hiya