Discuss Im an apprentice looking for some information on central heating systems in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

JamesE

Hello, Im an apprentice and I've been set the task of doing a bit of research on central heating systems. I think I have a fairly basic knowledge of how they work and how to wire one up. However, I was hoping to gain a bit of an understanding about how some of the individual components work electrically. ie. cyclinder stat, room thermostat, boiler, pump, mid position valve, programmer. What I want, and am having trouble sourcing, is a gut level understanding of these components. I am aware of what they do, but not how they do it. I might be barking up the wrong tree? Any ideas where I might be able to do some reading on these items, or maybe a better place to ask these questions?

Cheers, JamesE.

Last edited by a moderator:
Very basic:-

The cylinder and room thermostats are more than likely bi-metalic strips. A bi-metallic strip made by laminating two differen metasl together. They expand and contract when they are heated or cooled and make or break the switch that controls the power to the element.

The pump is an electric motor with an impeller on it that drives the water around the system.

The mid position valve is a mechanical valve that has a motor fitted to it. The motor moves the valve to divert the water flow to various water circuits.

The programmer is an electronic control system that tells the motors, valves, pumps etc when to turn on and when to turn off.

As I said, very basic.

Cheers, Ron

Ask a specific question about each component one by one. Giving any questions as answers come back. A heating circuit is just "making" or "breaking" contact to switch on or turn off due to demand. Nothing that complicated about a conventional heating system.

I have a book called Central heating fault finding and repair by john reginald, read and understand this and you'll be better than a plumber.
Regards
AJ