Discuss Rangemaster cooking tripping breaker in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm not an electrician. I clean cookers and today arrived to a rangemaster range cooker. Got started, and as part of my routine, I turn on ovens to get heat to each compartment. I was cleaning ceramic hob when power tripped. No big deal I thought, usually a bulb or faulty element. I turned off all switches on cooker, turned red cooker switch off and went out to circuit board and turned breaker back on. When I went to turn on red cooker switch beside rangemaster back on, straight away it turned off and tripped breaker again.. I switched red switch on socket off again, made sure everything on cooker was off and tried again but kept tripping. With red switch off, I turned breaker back on and pressed reset button, and immediately tripped. (with red button beside cooker at off)... Tryng to get someone to look at it tomorrow - where is fault most likely.?? Thanks

A faulty element was my first thought of most likely culprit.
however, if the big red cooker switch is turned off and the issue with the electrics tripping still happens. then the fault lies with something else in the house.

For clarity, the big red switch marked cooker (provided it is actually wired to the cooker) disconnects the cooker from the house electricity supply completely and can therefore not affect any of the trip switches.

Reply to Rangemaster cooking tripping breaker in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi, I swapped a 2 gang switched socket for a 2 gang switchless socket with usb ports downstairs. I switched off all the power to the house by...
Replies
Views
Hi all, There's 2 single fan ovens in the house my mother recently moved into. Posh elecronic AEG units. It's been sat empty for a year, so the...
Replies
Views