Discuss Recommendation request for Type B distribution board in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As a retired electrician, I need to specify a new type B board for a village church. Principal load is heating. Ipfc phase to phase is 1.1kA.
Requirements:
  • 23 final circuits, so don't want to exceed an 8 way board - pref no higher than about 625mm.
  • SPD therefore not to steal 3 MCB positions but to sit alongside incomer.
  • Need AFDDs combined into single module with either MCB or RCBO depending on the circuit - don't wish to use a separate enclosure for AFDDs.
  • Decent quality but not unduly expensive whilst avoiding Chinese tat.
All the above could be met by Hager, except that their MCB/AFDD and RCBO/AFDD units (ARM9**U and ARR9**U) are only rated at 6kA and, Hager tell me, "are 6kA devices that have not been tested in a 3 phase installation or DB." Their planned ARL9**U series is not yet released but they say "will be suitable for 3 phase boards" despite being 6kA.
What suggestions could you fellows make, please?

FuseBox have just released a 3ph board with all the accessories - might be worth taking a look at and report back to us?

FuseBox have just released a 3ph board with all the accessories - might be worth taking a look at and report back to us?
Tried their website, seems rather short of detail. They offer a 7 way - but one way is robbed for the SPD, so too small - and 11 way but no detail on this whatsoever, not even dimensions.
I've been dealing with a Fusebox CU installed by someone else and am under impressed - poor alignment of mounting rail with case, so had to almost completely dismantle it to get lid to fit without undue pressure on the devices.
I was rather hoping that one of you fellows would have glanced at my wish list and said "brand X will do that".

I was rather hoping that one of you fellows would have glanced at my wish list and said "brand X will do that".