Discuss Best and quickest way to cut floor boxes into raised floor tiles? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Askii

-
Reaction score
Hi all, was just wondering if anyone had any recommendations for cutting out floor boxes in the raised floor tiles. If you know what I'm talking about and have seen them, then you'll know that they're wood with a metal casing around the tile. I've done 100's of these when I was an apprentice and the odd one now and then but we usually get one of the labourers to do them as it's easier and cheaper but I've had a price to do 100+ and I'm gonna have a go at doing them myself. We used to use a joiners bandsaw but we can't do that this time, so basically what's the best jigsaw blades that are gonna eat through wood AND metal without the blades being destroyed after one tile. Or anything else that's quicker/cheaper with effective results.

Thanks Askii

Hi all, was just wondering if anyone had any recommendations for cutting out floor boxes in the raised floor tiles. If you know what I'm talking about and have seen them, then you'll know that they're wood with a metal casing around the tile. I've done 100's of these when I was an apprentice and the odd one now and then but we usually get one of the labourers to do them as it's easier and cheaper but I've had a price to do 100+ and I'm gonna have a go at doing them myself. We used to use a joiners bandsaw but we can't do that this time, so basically what's the best jigsaw blades that are gonna eat through wood AND metal without the blades being destroyed after one tile. Or anything else that's quicker/cheaper with effective results.

Thanks Askii
some tct universal jigsaw blades should work.

If a bandsaw can't be used, I'd use a bi metal blade such as the Bosch T318AF which is designed to cut metals and sandwich construction materials upto 65mm thick. Screwfix sell packs of five and have a offer on jigsaw blades at the moment.