Discuss I for one am getting really fed up of the NICEIC! in the Certification NICEIC, NAPIT, Stroma, BECSA Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

J

JL_Electrical

I would just like to have a bit of a rant about the competent person schemes.

I have been an NICEIC approved contractor for four years now. I'm a 26 year old self-employed electrician, I have consistently turned over £40,000 per year and made about a £28,000 wage (no different to JIB rate). I am in the NICEIC because I believed that I wanted to belong to an elite organisation and be able to offer an approved service. Also I thought it would help give confidence to my customers when they see my baby face :crazy:. However I am becoming increasingly disgusted :angry_smile: with this industry and starting to think it's time we all stood up and did something. The NICEIC are simply a parasite, they do not remotely care about us or the industry and neither do the other bodies for that matter. We do need a licensing scheme. More and more recently I have been priced out of the market by unregistered out of work electricians doing uncertified rewires for as little as £1100.00. I have been priced out of a job at one of my main commercial customers by a cowboy NICEIC approved contractor. The job was wiring supplies to three roller shutter doors, via 16amp interlinked sockets. He thinks it's perfectly acceptable to piggy back from asbestos clad BS3036 fuses from a board that is at full capacity and is fed from another equally crappy board, 100 yards away with an ancient sub main that joints from SWA, to PYRO, then back to SWA, then back to PYRO (no joke). I was going to do a proper job, by pulling a new sub main in to feed my own dedicated board with new radial up to each.