Discuss I'm an electrician not a chuffin alarm engineer in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

marc.cott

Hi ANYONE,
I work for the NHS as a maintenance electrician and have been asked to install a galaxy 2-12 alarm system.I can get the system full set and my exit device works as it should ,however the rest of my PIR's are not triggering the alarm but are showing status closed when system unset,also I seem unable to carry out a walk test on the system as it shows "no entries" om my MK7 keypad.
If the exit device works there is no reaon ,in my mind why the rest of my devices shouldnt trigger as they are wired up exactly the same and have the same resistance level as my "exit" device and I have set these up as "intruder".
This is my first attempt and its starting to REALLY ANNOY me
Can anyone help ,I don't even care if you patronise me

. i'm not familiar with the galaxy , have you wired the detectors conventionally or with end of line resistors? i would think that your problem lies with the zone programming of the panel. tazz is your expert for this. he'll probably be on tonight.

i have wired the devices conventionally with pair for power(+&-)and pair forswitching and tamper.One leg goes to tamper and one leg to switch,these are then linked via 1k resistors within the PIR as 1k is normally closed status and alarm status is 2k

What is your job description within the NHS?
Why have you taken this on?

The NHS will have “approved” contractors for this type of work. To be honest I’m surprised they asked you to do this.

Agreed ,hence my heading to my post.