Discuss Main switch position on CU in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As I've said many times I'm not an electrician but still learning at 73 years old. I watch a lot of YouTube videos on electrical topics, just for the sake of it. I've just watched a video by Artisan Electrics where he was fitting a new CU and had a problem when the length of the existing tails were not long enough to reach the main isolating switch (which was on the RHS of the new board but came through a wall on the LHS of the existing board.) He had a nightmare trying to pull new tails through from the meter cupboard outside and eventually drilled though the wall and used trunking.

Sorry for the long preamble, but the video generated lots of comments on why he couldn't just move the main isolating switch (Eaton Version) from the RHS to the LHS of the new CU. The easy answer (as suggested in the comments) was just to buy anther CU with the main switch on the LHS but he didn't do that and accepts he should have done an EICR beforehand.

Can someone kindly explain why moving the main switch is a bad idea, as many comments suggested.

I expect that the busbar would need to be adjusted to accommodate the the L incomer being on the left now and outgoing side of the N incomer would be (perhaps) too close to the busbar and not reach the N bar. Also could you explain why polarity of the RCBOs would be a problem?

It's not uncommon for an isolator switch to break the live before the neutral and vice versa when reset it will connect the neutral before the live. This is why many isolators have L and N sides marked on them and shouldn't be connected the other way around. This means that when moving the isolator from one side of a CU to another you couldn't use the original busbar that connects between the isolator live and one side of the other circuit breakers.