Discuss Please help with fusebox wiring in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

matt1980

Hi guys, I have been an apprentice electrician for only a few months so know very little, although I am very enthusiastic and wanting to learn, which brings me to here.

A good friend of mine has a few properties which he rents out.
Unfortunately the police have been and raided one of them and found a cannabis factory inside the house, in the spare bedroom.

Now the thing is, the room where this was all going on, was using no electric at all !

Now im wondering if I coulod help him out by getting it all back to normal for him and save him a bit of cash as the room is totally wrecked.

But I dont understand how its been done ?

Ive heard of people totally bypassing electric meters alltogether, but it sounds asif they have bypassed just 1 circuit (obviously the room where they were doing there thing, and where most electric was been used) and left the rest alone, maybe not to cause any suspision ?

If anybody could help me out here it would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Last edited by a moderator:
this is where a photo of the intake , meter, and CU with it's cover off , is essential to determine what has been done.

Hi matt, welcome along to the forum.
To be honest mate if you have only been doing this for a couple of months then I suggest you give this a bit of a wide berth on your own as this will probably be quite a dangerous set up. Is there any way that you could ask one of the guys your working with to pop in and have a look to show you the correct way to remedy this while you observe?

Thanks for the welcome guys.

I will try get a picture of the board etc..

Dan - I probably could do that yes, I was hoping it was just a common thing that might be a case of swapping a few wires around in the CU to get things back to normal, as you say, maybe its a bit too much for me at the minute, although I would like to know how they have done it for future reference :)