Discuss Pricing a Re-wire in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

phil cook

Hi All

I recently Qualified as a domestic Electrical Installer, I achieved my 2382, 2377 and awaiting my EAL certificate, I decided to try it "on my own" after several tried and failed job interviews and applications. I have had a few small jobs, Moving sockets, changing light fittings etc.

I have just been contacted and asked to Quote 2 jobs, the first is to supply and fit a new consumer unit, outside feed to bottom of garden and a new cooker point in kitchen, The second is a full re-wire, I am struggling with how you would start to price these, Obviously I have not been tolook at either job yet but wondered if there is a pricing guidline?? i,e, So much per socket/light switch, so much per metre of cable inc clips etc. Do you put a certain amount in for petrol costs etc etc, Obviously I dont want to over-qoute and lose the job but also dont want to come in too cheap as that will be expected for every future job.

I have not registered with a governing body purely due to the cost and not having the work for them to come and check.

Any info will be greatly recieved

Thank you

Last edited by a moderator:
or use the rewire as assessment then notify through the scam provider after.

Hi All

I recently Qualified as a domestic Electrical Installer and decided to try it "on my own" after several tried and failed job interviews and applications. I have had a few small jobs, Moving sockets, changing light fittings etc.