Discuss SMA 3000hf bonding the array? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

solar-spark

Hi, guys does anyone know where to bond the array too? using the SMA 3000hf inverter I have never used these before so I am a bit unsure. I was told by my supplier just to bond it which I assumed was to the existing installation but after reading posts on here am I to bond it to the installation or a separate earth spike/rod?. I normally use the sunnyboy with the isolating transformers so I have never had to bond them before.

hi,yes its a tns system i was also told that i dont have to use a type b rcd because sma inverters dont feed back residual currents in D.C and that i would be ok using a normal type a rcd is that true? i am only using the 3000hf because everwhere is out of stock with the standard sunnyboy 3000.
thanks lee.

Surely the HF means high frequency transformer, therefore as there is a transformer they are galvanically isolated, therefore leave the array floating?
Regards
Bruce

thanks bruce the supplier told me i needed to bond the array he must have been confused with the TL version i start the install tomorow and will leave it floating as i do with the standard sunnyboy ones.

how many of you still bond the array, then bring back the earth, to leave isolated near the invertor,for i/r tests, only.? so it is still left floating. but easy for testing?

Hi All

i've read many of these threads and still don't understand why the array needs earthing / boding, can someone explain this to me please?

Thx

@pvguru

See my comments on the Segen conference in Brum and the flowchart in the DTi Guide.

It relates to transformless inverters where there is no galvanic isolation.

Hi Worcester

Thanks for coming back to me, i have read the DTI Guide, but (isnt there always a but)