Discuss Best Part P Scheme in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

RILEYTHESPARK

Hi Guys im currently working as a commercial contract electrician. I am a JIB approved electrician with my 2391 and 17th edition. I am considering setting up my own company working on domestic properties for landlords. I just after some advise regardind compantancy schemes i.e. NIC EIC and wondering which is the best with regards to cost and value for money.

SO IF ANYBODY COULD POINT ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION I WOULD A GREAT HELP.

Really depends on what is best for you NICEIC is the best known. NAPIT have their own exam which you take every 5 years so that your life long 2391 remains vailid with them:confused:.

Best thing you can do is get applications from all of them and decide which one caters for what you want and also look at the extra costs of submitting EICs etc.

Hope that helps

Chris

The NICEIC is the only one that appears to advertise, and try to get niches in markets across the country. They're also easily the most well known. If you're thinking of going into commercial at any point I would say go for them, as as much as Elecsa and Napit are good schemes, they only really started out properly when Part P came into force. A lot of commercial clients would see you as "just a domestic" spark trying to get better work, that's if they've ever heard of Elecsa or Napit.

These aren't my opinions, just what I've seen and heard for a while so don't shoot me down in flames!!

depends where the work is you are trying to get. for instance some councils wont take different scheme sparks on for work they will only use nic, maybee worth a call round your perspective customers

I'm afraid NIC seem to have a bit of a monopoly when it comes to public sector contracts.....

Exactly my point. They do plough a lot of money into advertising and getting contracts that stipulate only NICEIC electricians.