Discuss New CU onto MICC in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm changing a CU in a church hall fed by a 16mm2 x 2 core MICC (pyro) cable using the sheaf as an earth.
I think I'l get away with unhooking the old CU and threading the cable through a knockout and reclamping. But, just in case I screw up I've been trying to track down a gland kit to remake the end.
I've very little experience of this and only on 1.5s.
I've not had any luck tracking down suppliers of 16mm2 2 core kits yet, 4mm seems to be the max size stocked. Does anyone out there know where I can find one?
Any advice on remaking the connection gratefully received!
Cheers

Hi,
I'm changing a CU in a church hall fed by a 16mm2 x 2 core MICC (pyro) cable using the sheaf as an earth.
I think I'l get away with unhooking the old CU and threading the cable through a knockout and reclamping. But, just in case I screw up I've been trying to track down a gland kit to remake the end.
I've not had any luck tracking down suppliers of 16mm2 2 core kits yet, 4mm seems to be the max size stocked. Does anyone out there know where I can find one?
Cheers

Not a difficult job at all, take it easy don't rush, oh and it's sheath

Hi,
Cheers

you don't mean by using a Tenby clamp do you? and try these for Heavy duty pots.

http://www.cablejoints.co.uk

Last edited:
Thank you for the replies.
I know that sometimes the ends can go brittle so I'm just allowing for the possibility of having to remake the joint. my main problem is I havnt found any suppliers of 2 core 16mm2 kits yet.

I think what I may do instead is turn the old CU into an isolator by fixing a blanking plate onto the cover and running a set of tails of the DP isolator to a consumer unit below. (at least it will be accessible without a ladder then!)

Cheers
Steve

Thank you for the replies.