Discuss Removing someone else's isolation in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

SJE392

-
Reaction score
Hi all,

After some help here. My boss at the company I work for is adamant that I must remove my electrical isolation, even though I don't deem the work to be safe or complete.

Long and short of it is, if I don't remove it myself, then someone else will.

Is this legal?

Many thanks

Would be good to hear the circumastances. If its a final circuit could you disconnect from the protective device and remove your isolation? If you are simply handing over to someone else could you witness their lockoff?

I think you need to give more context and information.
Fair enough.

I work for a utility company and there was an incident in which a digger ripped a cable out of a duct to a control room taking half the trunking and final circuits with it.

So being an authorised electrician I was sent to make safe and isolate the supply cable. Lock off etc etc.

In the mean time the company responsible for the damage has had their electrician make a temporary repair just to get by. But in my opinion it's unsafe and doesn't comply with 7671.

My company want to get power back on asap and are willing to accept the temporary repair as "good enough"

So my dilemma is I'm being asked to remove my isolation but in my opinion it's not in a good enough state to do so.

Thank you for the further info. What did the manner of this temporary repair entail. Temporary still means compliance for safety as you are obviously well aware.

Thank you for the further info. What did the manner of this temporary repair entail. Temporary still means compliance for safety as you are obviously well aware.
A cable joint and some lashed up distribution board. Cables hanging in free air that sort of thing.

I would like to know if it's illegal for someone to remove my padlock without my consent