Discuss Non Compliance? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

cbw

-
Reaction score
Guys , I am fairly new to this, be gentle!

Second install is a twin array/inverter job.

On testing today everything is really good except, my SMA1700 fires up after 1 minute following A/C failure.

Spoke to Germany, they said that serial number is not set for the UK market and I should return it to the supplier.

Therefore spoke to the supplier, who passed me onto their supplier who said I need to buy a laptop and download some free software, then buy some leed and reprogram the SMA1700

I am dreadfull with a basic computer in my office.....God help me in a sweaty old loft with a laptop.

Do I go and buy a laptop and attempt this reprogramming? or do I remove the inverter, rebox it and fill in noncompliance paperwork?

Not sure if this is common, the man said that due to current pressures they were asking for UK programmed inverters but taking what ever they were offered.

I am also wondering what benefit you would get from connecting the inverter to a laptop during commissioning. Are there extra settings that you can't access normally? To date the SMAs we have installed have all started up without any problems following the usual tests.

I don't want to sound too harsh here, but it is really up to you as the installer to confirm that everything about the system meets the G83 spec, assuming up to 16A per phase. You cannot just say 'it comes in a box so I'm not touching it'.

When you submit the G83 form you are saying that you have checked that everything complies. So you should have the training, kit and competence to do that - and that includes all inverter settings.

Cool, thats the answer I was looking for, new laptop it is then, I just assumed that they would sell UK equipment, and obviously I have checked it, hence I picked up the problem.