Discuss Replace a 20 amp multi intermediate grid switch with fuse with what? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Suzy6452

Hi

I have read so many of your questions and responses and have learned a lot however I still cant seem to find what I need to know.

The switch system on the wall in the utility is for the two under unit appliances washer and dryer and above boiler.

I am not a novice with electrics and when it comes to sorting out basic electrical needs I have no problem however, the problem I have is that 2 of the switches are not working and they no longer are made.

I have drawn a diagram of what goes where re the wires intending to just replace it but I am having a problem finding the type of switch to use. There are some I have seen but no plates with them stc but I just want to buy all I need from one place that caters for my need.

Installed is 3 x 20 amp intermediate grid switches which have 2 holes at top and 2 at the bottom and the switches were made by Tenby. At the end of the frame is a Fuse.

I have checked the MK site and Tenby and they do not seem to do the ones with four holes on back.

I wondered is they are called something else or has something replaced these and if so what and how will it effect where the wires go.

When I have read details on your forum and other places it talks about the socket on the wall not been switched but mine both are and the switch is in the on position. Should I have any concerns with this?

I have read that it would be normal to use 2 x 3 way switches and a intermediate switch in the middle and how that would work but that would mean the wire placement altering and although I am aware of how circuits run and the in and out etc this unit has 5 cables running into it. Changing from intermediate to intermediate I could do with no problem. If it is a case of changing the wire positions I'm weary. Don't worry whatever I do I will have it checked by a professional.