Discuss Which panels and inverter to choose? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Z

zcacogp

Hi,

This is my first post, and I'll come clean at the outset; I'm not an electrician nor a solar installer. BUT I am in the process of getting an install, and would like some help in choosing the best option. I have found an installer whom I like, and whom I trust (I was recommended to him by a longstanding friend) and he has provided me with three quotes for three different systems. I will discuss the quotes with him directly as I am sure he will be helpful, but in the interests of not taking advice from someone trying to sell you something, am asking here as well.

The three quotes are as follows;

1. 14 x Suntech STP190Ad panels. 1 x SMA SB2500HF Inverter. Size = 2.66kWp. Cost = £8830. ROI 11.6%
2. 14 x Sanyo HIT SE10 235Wp panels. 1 x SMA SB3000HF Inverter. Size = 3.29kWp. Cost = £12450. ROI 10.2%
3. 13 x Azur P235 panels. 1 x SMA SB3000HF Inverter. Size = 3.055kWp. Cost = £11183. ROI 10.6%

As I understand it, the Sanyo panels may be more efficient than the others, and their output estimate will therefore possibly to be more conservative than the others, hence things may look better with them than quoted. The Azur ones have a fancy coating which means they will degrade less over time than the others (guarantee of 98% efficiently after 20 years, as opposed to 85% with the others.)

I guess that looking at the figures in more detail will tell me why the smallest system gives the best ROI, and I haven't done that yet. BUT, putting the question simply, which of those panels is the best bet? I know nothing about solar panels, and am struggling to find any reasons to choose one over the others on t'interweb. Everyone seems to be talking about the Sanyo panels, and the friend who recommended the installer to me has them as well, but why are they so popular? They offer the lowest ROI of the lot!

Which quote would you go with, and why?