Discuss DNO Attendance in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

shazbutz

Hi
Newbie here returning to the trade after years off the tools, requalified and wondering why I bothered. I called a DNO this morning to enquire if the supply to a property was TT or TN-S as there apppeared to be a 30 year old DIY modification to the earthing arrangement. The customer was adamanet that no electrical work had been done since the place was rewired 30 years ago.
I'd upgraded the C/U to split load, dual RCD and completed all the dead tests [all radial circuits and all surprisingly good] and started Zs and got whacky results all between 12.8 AND 13.5 ohms.
Back to the basics as I looked at what I'd taken as TN-S pulled apart various earth cables to discover that a cunningly hidded earth clamp attached a cable to the armour of the incomer mascarading as the DNO earth taking a tortuous and hidden route to the MET and the cable to the earth rod left unconnected and buried in the garden!
To the point, rather than send out an engineer under flashing amber lights why couldn't they confirm the original supply details? Don't they keep records anymore? all I wanted to do was to make sure that it wasn't a poor TN-S and by the time they arrived a new rod was in and connected!
Anyway hello!

Last time I wanted information their records office had burnt down.
If you want information:
1/ unroll your prayer mat
2/ check the direction it's pointing in with you're pocket compass. (E)
3/ drop to you're knees and pray to Mecca!

Last edited by a moderator:
Why the hell didn't you ask about the possibility of a PME connection?? So what did you bung in for the new earth rod, a 1m twig?? I bet that really upped your Ze/Ra value?? lol!!

Why the hell didn't you ask about the possibility of a PME connection?? So what did you bung in for the new earth rod, a 1m twig?? I bet that really upped your Ze/Ra value?? lol!!