Search the forum,

Discuss employment after qualification in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

wallicio

Hello all,

I have just passed my part P (woop woop) and will be sitting the 17th in Jan. I have no practical experience in electricity outside the workshop :(

Would it be fair to say i could seek employment once I have both of these qualifications as a Sparks mate or similar? Also what kind of pay would you get or does that depend on how much work you get? rough ballpark figure?

I do have a lot of other qualifications lined up as i am on one of those home learning courses.

Been in the same job for 10 years now (warehouse) and just need a little advice on taking the plunge into the big wide world of the Domestic Spark.

Any advice would be fantastic
Thankyou
Wallicio

What do you mean by passing your part P?. Have you had an assement from a scheme or have you done a DI course?

With both qualifications you would have a better chance of picking up work but there are a lot of guys out there looking for work and Christmas is not a good time for looking. A mate in the SE would expect 8 or 9 pounds an hour depending on the type of work

Malcolm is right. There are a LOT of guys searching for work right now fully qualified sparks with 20+ years experience are struggling.

Rates are the worst they've been, again experienced blokes settling for £10 just to get a job!

The hard bit is getting the experience so your best bet is to get what ever work you can helping experienced electricians even if its for peanuts or for free or even try and get them to take you on a modern apprentiship.
Hope this helps
Paul

Sorry,
malcolm,
Yeah have passed the EAL Level 2 domestic installers course. which for me included Part P.
As I said looking at 2382-10 mid to late January.

So what would you guys suggest then? would these qualifications not be enough to get in as a mate?
Would i need say the 2392-10 on top to get a job?