Discuss NICEIC Domestic Installers incompetent to do EICRs? in the Certification NICEIC, NAPIT, Stroma, BECSA Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Piratepete

I'm a NICEIC Domestic Installer but on bunging my postcode into NICEIC's 'Find an Electrician' page after ticking the EICR box, my company didn't show up.
NICEIC tells me that this is quite right and if I want to do EICRs on NICEIC forms and come up in a search I need to become an Approved Contractor (with all the extra expense and time that that involves!). I am however qualified to do EICRs on unbranded forms. What nonsense is this?

This just seems to be another money making racket!

Are my fellow Domestic Installers aware of this and is it the same whichever trade body (Napit, Elecsa etc) you're a member of?

Cheers

Pete

i know a plumber that does 'em. only problem is, you can't read the details for the dried up poo all over them.

Just read the sticky 'PIRs and Competent Persons'. I think that says it all! Just never thought about it - anyone can do them - could be a good source of beer money for my 95 year old dad! He's a poet (well he thinks he is)!

If you are doing EICR's on NICEIC forms they are expected to be of a high standard. Our NIC inspector goes through at least one of my EICR's on his annual visit with a fine tooth comb. Thats why only approved contractors can use the forms....not saying we are all perfect but those who maintain an approved contractor status are more likely to meet the required standard than a DI who could easily be a Electrical Trainee.....

If you are doing EICR's on NICEIC forms they are expected to be of a high standard. Our NIC inspector goes through at least one of my EICR's on his annual visit with a fine tooth comb. Thats why only approved contractors can use the forms....not saying we are all perfect but those who maintain an approved contractor status are more likely to meet the required standard than a DI who could easily be a Electrical Trainee.....