Discuss scrap prices in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

growler

-
Arms
Reaction score
iv never really been one for collecting scrap, however in the last 6 months i have realised how much money iv missed out on. At the end of July i took 3 black bins worth of t + e and got £170, at the beggining of October i took roughly the same amount to a different scrappy but only got £90. The guy at the second place said the value had fallen by £1000 per tonne in the last week. I wasnt happy but took his word for it. I now have another load but dont want to cash it in if the price is low. I looked earlier at one scrappy who were buying household at £1480 per tonne. I dont think this is a good price but im not very experienced at this game. Any advice would be greatly app. ty

Hi mate, I got £1.40 a kilo last week which is good at moment. This is for unstripped cable so the lazy mans choice. Dry bright is maybe £4.50 a kilo but a few months back hit £6.

I think you'll find scrap prices fall coming upto Xmas. The scrapman knows we like a Xmas drink.
yep well I have all this weighing in malaky to come and if I dont like what i`m offered i`l be going elseware and christmas wont change owt......i`l just save it until the scrapper decides he wants the stuff enough.....enough to get his mits in his pocket that is...lol.....were tight up in yorkshire you know..lol...........

Just ring up a couple of local scrap dealers and get their prices, that should find out if your being given a true price.
A good question to ask is if they take burnt copper, sign of a true pikey! Can get a decent price and save a whole lot of time stripping cable

There are no new rules coming in.