Discuss How would you (a professional) look to get a spotlight up here? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
So, another impossible question by me here - but any advice at all really appreciated.

I'd like to place a spotlight at the top of the peak of my house, it's not a downlight - but a spotlight - so needs mounting on the front of the fascia and then pointing kind of back on itself.

The orange line is my best idea so far, but I'm not a professional. I was thinking of putting the cable from the fitting into the front fascia, drop the cable down the soffit then run it back up into the loft using rods up the vent, but a few problems with this. And I suspect it's not how you professionals would go about it.

This may be one I call someone in for but I'm still intrigued how it'd be done 'properly'. Behind the triangle in the loft is solid block, no visible way to the soffit/fascia other than the vents at the side.

How would you (a professional) look to get a spotlight up here? job - EletriciansForums.net

drill through the wood and block just under the apex of the roof (bottom green line of the box drawn), fit a black adaptable box if required to join the flex from spotlight to twin and earth entering house.

drill through the wood and block just under the apex of the roof (bottom green line of the box drawn), fit a black adaptable box if required to join the flex from spotlight to twin and earth entering house.

Thanks a lot for the reply James! Struggling this one and don't want to get up the ladder to attempt it until I have a plan.

So run the cable from the back of the light fitting (fitted on the front) under to the soffit then into the soffit?