Discuss notifiable or not -for scottish sparks mainly... in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm pulling my hair out trying to get a definitive answer for the following query.

I'm trying to upgrade mcbs in a board and that we have been told are underated so I'm swopping 32 for 40a breakers along with changing faulty sockets,fitting blanks to the front CU's,sealing up holes in CU's that have been deemed IP2x and resolving faults such as no continuity/high continuity.

The company that did the EICR's and flagged up these faults say they have to come back and test/inspect the work and issue minor works certs.

I've spoken to Building control (glasgow) and I'm getting the most non committal answers you have ever heard,I think I am speaking to a non electrical guy.

So does any of the above require a minor works or is any of it notifiable ,remember its Scotland we are dealing with.

I am an electrician with city and guilds parts 1 and 2, hnc electrical engineering and Nebosh, but not part of any scheme just a lowly maintenance guy working 20 hrs a week supplementing his pension...

You dont have to be a member of a scam to issue certs in Scotland but you should have your 17th edition and your test and inspect.
A minor works should be issued and the EICR repeated once the defects are resolved.
Why was the EICR required in the first place?
It dosent look like you can do an EICR with the qualifications you have so it looks like you may have to get the origional company back.
Why are you changing 32A MCBs for 40A?

You dont have to be a member of a scam to issue certs in Scotland but you should have your 17th edition and your test and inspect.
A minor works should be issued and the EICR repeated once the defects are resolved.
Why was the EICR required in the first place?
It dosent look like you can do an EICR with the qualifications you have so it looks like you may have to get the origional company back.